Powiat leżajski

Print Site map





At the very beginning Leżajsk Poviat was a non-fortified settlement consisting of Leżajsk and 4 smaller settlements:  Dębno, Giedlarowa, Wierzawice i Sarzyna. However the development of settlement movement gave rise to new settlements and enlargement of the poviat’s territory. Thus,  in 1649 twenty-four settlements were included in Leżajsk Poviat, namely Leżajsk, Jastrzębiec, Brzóza Królewska, Brzyska Wola, Łukowa, Ożanna, Ruda Łańcucka, Rzuchów, Sarzyna, Siedlanka, Stare Miasto, Dębno, Giedlarową, Hucisko, Jelna, Judaszówka, Tarnawiec, Wierzawice, Wola Zarzycka, Wólka Łamana i Wólka Niedźwiedzka. At the turn of the following 200 years Leżajsk starosty was in the hands of extremely rich aristocratic families with the Opaliński family leasing the land for about 90 years on. Since 1655 the land belonged to the Potocki family (due to the fact that the widow of Łukasz Opaliński ceded the Leżajsk and surroundings to her son-in-law Andrzej Potocki and his heirs).
After the first partition of Poland the lands of Leżajsk Poviat were included into the Austrian Monarchy as ,so called, “Cosy Goods” ( ‘Dobra Kameralne).  In 1819, Earl Wojciech Mier purchased them at an auction and a few years later he sold them to Earl Alfred Potocki – the first Łańcut entailer. Unfortunately, numerous changes and modifications in administrative division brought about Leżajsk being the part of Łańcut district, at first. Later, Leżajsk Poviat could have been found as a part of Rzeszów district. As part of the district 178 poviats were created – Leżajsk became one of them, but for a short period of time only (12 years). In 1867 Leżajsk Poviat was included in the Poviat of Łańcut. During the twelve years time Leżajsk Poviat functioned well, containing 33 settlements with 31.890 inhabitants. It covered the area of 7.2 square miles. The Staroste, estate manager, adjunct, actuaries and some office workers  held the most important positions. The account department existed at that time.
Meanwhile, many councilors from the council of the Łańcut Poviat, but coming from Leżajsk opposed to the abolition of Leżajsk Poviat. Furthermore, after the abolition took place, a motion had been put forward to re-create the Leżajsk Poviat. Unfortunalely, all attempts failed. The attempts were again given up after Poland had regained independence in 1918. The possibility of re-creation of the Poviat raised after II World War had ended. On the 12th of November 1955 the establishment of the Poviat with its seat in Leżajsk  was legitimized(since January 1956). The Poviat consisted of 20 administrative units, the town of Leżajsk, district of Nowa Sarzyna, 18 smallest units and 48 villages. In 1975 Leżajsk Poviat had the population of 62 thousand. It was the time when considerable changes in the development of the town were introduced. Roads, power lines, sewer system were built and installation of gas-supply mains was initiated. Many industrial plants sprang out: Tobacco Manufacturer (Wytwórnia Tytoniu Przemysłowego), Brewery in Leżajsk(Browar w Leżajsku) machine factory ( Fabryka Maszyn) Hortex I i II, Instal, Mewa. Leżajsk became an important industrial area. A housing estate and general public buildings were modernized. In 1975 the polish government made a decision and abolished poviats, introducing two stage administrative system. The quarter of century must have passed until socio-economic changes appeared, and three stage administrative system was brought back to living. Since 1999 Leżajsk Poviat has been restored again.



Search engine


Contact Us

Starostwo Powiatowe w Leżajsku
8  Kopernika St.
37-300 Leżajsk
phone number +48 17 240 45 00
fax +48 17 240 45 09


full contact details



Visit counter: 14 863
Ideo realizacja:
CMS Edito Powered by:
Starostwo Powiatowe w Leżajsku
ul. Kopernika 8
37-300 Leżajsk
tel: 017 2404 500
fax: 017 2404 509